We’ve seen the Apple Pencil being well received by high-profile artists even before launch, but I’ve so far seen little on what pen guys think of it. The Pen Addict filled in the gap with a review in which Myke Hurley said that it provided the digital handwriting experience he’d been waiting for.

Sure, I like to doodle and scribble as much as the next person, but all I wanted to know was if the Apple Pencil would give me the digital handwriting experience I had wanted for so long. TL;DR: It does … 

Hurley noted that pen guys consider weight and balance to be crucial, and Apple got it right here.

Hurley said that while it wasn’t quite perfect, it was better than anything else on the market.

The Pencil is heavier than I imagined it would be. Brad and I constantly talk about how important weight and balance is in our writing instruments, and this has clearly been considered here. The Pencil is weighted fantastically. It feels great to hold; it feels substantial.

And while he won’t be giving up real pens any time soon, he described himself as a convert.

Using the Apple Pencil in Notes is the closest I have ever come to getting a true handwriting experience from a digital device.

To say there is no lag would be incorrect, but it is close enough to feel that it works. When you move the Pencil across the screen, most lines will travel ever so slightly behind it. But compared to previous experiences of using a stylus on a iPad, the difference is like night and day.

Check out their full review here.

After only having used it for a few days, I am now at the point where I wouldn’t want to go back. Being able to take quick notes or doodles whilst recording podcasts, having quick access to some sketching tools to mark up a document or screenshot, and having a new way to interact with iOS more precisely, has made the Pencil a must-have item in my toolkit […]

The work Apple has done to get the hardware and software in harmony to the point where this all works so flawlessly is astounding to me. The results I am able to achieve are just fantastic. I have always been a pen guy. But now I’m a Pencil guy too.